Graduation Ceremony 2021

January 25, 2021

Virtuel graduation ceremony of the Department of Mathematics and graduation awards 2021

This year's graduation ceremony took place on 22.01.2021 as a virtual event. The welcome by the Dean Professor Dr. Christian Holm was followed by the presentation of the graduate awards of the Department of Mathematics by the Vice Dean Mathematics Professor Dr. Timo Weidl. The award for the best bachelor degree was given to Mr. Andrey Kharitenko. Mr. Paul Schwahn was awarded for the best master's degree in mathematics. Both prizes were donated by the Verein der Freunde der Mathematik e.V.. Mr. Schwahn gave a nice insight into a mathematical problem on the basis of his master thesis with the topic "Einstein Deformations on Homogeneous Spaces" to the broad auditorium, consisting of family, friends, fellow students and members of the faculty.

The prize for the best dissertation in physics was offered by the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation. Professor Dr. Harald Giessen (Vice Dean Physics) and Dr. Stefan Jorda (Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation) awarded the prize to Dr. Fabian Böttcher. Dr. Böttcher presented the impressive results of his PhD with the topic "Supersolid Arrays of Dipolar Quantum Droplets" in an entertaining and generally understandable lecture, with the help of the Simpsons and Donald Duck.

In the academic year 2019/2020, 244 students graduated from the faculty, 102 bachelor's graduates, 52 master's graduates, and 90 graduates with the goal of becoming teachers. Dean Professor Holm congratulated the graduates present by name on the degree they had achieved.

Some graduates from mathematics presented their résumé to the total of 97 participants with an insight into the course contents and their personal milestones in their studies, peppered with allusions and analogies between mathematics, the great masterminds and "life" as well as their mutual influences.


Graduates Bachelor Mathematics


Graduates Bachelor Physics

MSc Mathe

Graduates Master Mathematics

MSc Physik

Graduates Master Physics


Graduates Study Programm Teachung Mathematics und Physics

Andrey Kharitenko B.Sc. - award for the best bachelor degree Mathematics
Paul Schwahn M.Sc.  - award for the best master degree Mathematics
Dr. Fabian Böttcher - Wilhelm und Else Heraeus-Award 2020 for the best dissertation in physics
To the top of the page