Graduation Ceremony 2022

January 24, 2022

Faculty 8 – Mathematics and Physics - 21.01.2022

The graduation ceremony on January 21st, 2022, was opened by Dean Christian Holm. He welcomed the guests and honorees and shared some personal thoughts. Addressing the graduates, he said, " ... after a hard piece of work, it is sometimes worthwhile to stop and review your life goals and expectations for the future. ...". Dean Holm also highlighted the engagement of the two student groups, especially in introducing first-year students to Corona conditions and reviewed the major events of the past year in his speech.

Dekan Christian Holm
Dekan Christian Holm

Traditionally the prizes for the graduates of both the B.Sc. Mathematics and M.Sc. Mathematics programs are donated by Robert Bosch GmbH, which was represented by Honorary Professor Dr. Uwe Iben, Dr. Veronika Schleper and Dr. Martin Giersbeck.

The prize for the best master's degree was awarded to Jann van der Meer, who wrote his thesis under the supervision of PD Dr. Anda Degeratu. He presented his studies, in which he dedicated himself to the famous "black hole", very clearly in a short lecture. The best bachelor graduate in mathematics was Oliver Tobias König, who was supervised by Professor Andrea Barth in the preparation of his bachelor thesis.

Mr. Lukas Duschek was honored with the faculty award for the best teaching degree in the bachelor’s studies. He is a mathematics student with the goal of becoming a teacher and his thesis was supervised by Professor Meinolf Geck. In the master's program of the teaching degrees, the award went to Mr. Christian Streib, a graduate of the M.Ed. Physics and Mathematics, whose work was supervised by Professor Steffen König. The prizes were presented by Professor Jens Wirth and endowed by the Verein der Freunde der Mathematik e.V..

Absolventenpreis Mathematik: </br>Foto oben: Oliver König und Jan van der Meer,</br> unten: Lukas Duschek und Christian Streib
Absolventenpreis Mathematik:
Foto oben: Oliver König und Jan van der Meer,
unten: Lukas Duschek und Christian Streib

The Department of Physics presented two awards to the best master’s graduates. The first prize went to Chris Bühler, who wrote his thesis under the guidance of Professor Hans Peter Büchler at the Institute of Theoretical Physics III. The second was awarded to Matthias Hübler, whose master's thesis was supervised by Professor Rudolf Hilfer at the Institute of Computational Physics.

In addition, for the third year in a row, the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Dissertation Prize is endowed to an outstanding doctoral thesis in physics. The prize is awarded by the foundation of the same name, whose managing director Dr. Stefan Jorda was present online to congratulate the prize winner with a few personal words.

Dr. Hüseyin Vural, for his part, found appreciative words to thank the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation for the award and support, and gave a intelligible talk on an important area of quantum physics on the topic of "Delay of quantum dot photons in cesium vapor: perspectives for optical quantum technologies." He wrote his dissertation at the Institute of Semiconductor Optics and Functional Interfaces under the supervision of Professor Peter Michler.

Absolventpreise Physik:
Chris Bühler, Matthias Hübler, Dr. Hüseyin Vural

The student groups also participated with a contribution; they staged a conversation of two graduates with a first-year student, in which they addressed the study conditions in general and incidentally presented an "endearing characteristic" of the faculty, which may have at least put a smile on insiders' faces every now and then.

At the end of the online event, a toast was shared; for this, some of the participants had switched on their picture, so that familiar faces could convey the impression of personal closeness and the facial expressions of the online participants suggested a successful event. At this point, we would like to thank all graduates, guests, friends, and alumni of the faculty. 

To the top of the page